Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer


PFL reveals welterweight and light heavyweight rosters ahead of new season starting in April

Rory MacDonald | Esther Lin, MMA Fighting

As the PFL prepares to return with a new season starting on April 23, the promotion has now announced the rosters for two more divisions.

At welterweight, one of the biggest recent additions to the roster is ex-Bellator champion and former UFC title contender Rory MacDonald, who inked a deal to join the promotion in free agency. MacDonald had been ranked as one of the best 170-pounders for the last several years and now he’ll look to add a PFL championship along with the $1 million grand prize to his resume in the upcoming season.

Of course, MacDonald will have to go through a number of returning fighters at welterweight including 2019 champion Ray Cooper III, who was a finalist in his first year with the promotion before claiming the prize in the following season.

Magomed Magomedkerimov, who was the 2018 PFL champion, will also return for the new season as he looks to re-stake his claim to the top of the division. Magomedkerimov never actually lost during the 2019 season but he was forced to drop out of the playoffs due to illness, which eliminated him from the competition.

The current roster at welterweight for the upcoming PFL season includes: Nikolai Aleksakhin, Ray Cooper III, Rory MacDonald, Magomed Magomedkerimov, David Michaud, Sadibou Sy and Joao Zeferino.

In the light heavyweight division, Emiliano Sordi will return in hopes of defending his crown after winning the PFL title in 2019. Sordi went undefeated during his 2019 campaign including a first-round ground and pound finish over Jordan Johnson to win the championship.

Joining Sordi at light heavyweight in 2021 will be Chris Camozzi, Cezar Ferreira, Marthin Hamlet, Jordan Johnson, Tom Lawlor, Smealinho Rama, Dan Spohn and Jordan Young.

After not promoting any events in 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic, the PFL will return with the new season starting on April 23 with all events airing on ESPN2 and ESPN+. The regular season will take place with the events on April 23, April 29, May 6, June 10, June 17 and June 25.

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment